Product titles: the 75-character rule and the banned characters
The example bottle’s title is 120 characters, 45 over the US limit. Amazon may replace it with a shorter title; an active listing can still be absent from search. Learn what to keep, what to cut and which current requirements the title must meet.

The rule: 75 characters, spaces included

Since Jul 27, 2026 US product titles have a 75-character limit, except Media (books, music, video/DVD, software). Spaces and the brand count (Amazon rule). Exactly 75 is allowed; 76 is over.
The rollout announcement says listings remain active; current help also warns that a noncompliant title may not appear in search. Amazon gradually replaces it with its own AI-recommended, shorter title; brand owners get 14 days to review it in Review Listings Changes (Amazon rule, Jul 27, 2026).
A replacement title may drop facts your buyers need.
Where in the new layout: Products › Manage products (classic: Inventory › Manage All Inventory)
Two more title requirements
Current help lists two more title requirements (read Oct 24, 2026):
- These characters are not allowed: ! $ ? _ { } ^ ¬ ¦, even inside a brand name.
- The same word may appear at most twice. Prepositions, articles and conjunctions are exempt. Brand words count, except in a different context (Old Navy and navy blue).
In L-Guard's title checker, "32 oz Bottle 32 oz Lid 32 oz Cup" fails on "oz". Numbers alone do not count; "Bottle" and "Bottles" differ. Amazon’s plural handling remains unverified.
Amazon prohibits Free Shipping and decorative symbols. ALL CAPS and subjective Best Seller wording are guidance. Check the current source before publishing; older checker colors can differ (read Oct 24, 2026).
Where in the new layout: Products › Manage products (classic: Inventory › Manage All Inventory)
What to keep first

Keep the identifying facts in this order (L-Guard tip, not an Amazon rule):
- Brand
- Product type: what it is (water bottle, meal prep containers)
- Size or quantity (32 oz, 5-Pack)
- Material (stainless steel, glass)
- Your strongest feature (leak-proof lid)
Move use cases elsewhere; cut repeated ideas and filler. Check every claim against the product’s fact sheet.
Where in the new layout: Products › Manage products (classic: Inventory › Manage All Inventory)
Item Highlights: where the extra words go
The Jun 10, 2026 announcement introduced Item Highlights: up to 125 characters. Amazon's help says you can add it once the title fits 75 characters. The exact cause of error 100476 is unverified; do not infer it from title length alone. Either way: fix the title first, then move the features you cut into Item Highlights.
Where in the new layout: Products › Manage products (classic: Inventory › Manage All Inventory)
A plain cut is not a fix
L-Guard's plain cut stops at the last whole word that fits 75 characters. It is not what Amazon does, and it is not a good title. On the meal prep title it ends on "Oven" and drops "Leak-Proof"; on the cable title it keeps the banned { and }. A plain cut fixes length only.
Before accepting a shorter title, check five things: it fits 75, breaks no title rule, adds no unsupported number or claim, keeps the essential product facts, and keeps more features than the plain cut.
Where in the new layout: Products › Manage products (classic: Inventory › Manage All Inventory)
Key terms
- Title
- The product name at the top of a product page: at most 75 characters since Jul 27, 2026 (not Media).
- Media category
- Books, music, video and DVD, software. The 75-character limit does not apply.
- Item Highlights
- Up to 125 characters (since Jun 10, 2026), shown only when the title fits 75.
- Brand owner
- A seller enrolled in Brand Registry for the brand; gets 14 days to review a replacement title.
- Plain cut
- L-Guard's cut at the last whole word within 75 characters. Not what Amazon does.
- Promotional phrase
- Sales wording. Free Shipping is prohibited; Best Seller is guidance. L-Guard's checker may show both as warnings.
Try it
Title lab
A 120-character title, cut one word at a time and counted by L-Guard's title code (the same rules as the Listing Limits Checker).
Start: Hearthline USB-C to USB-C Charger Cable, 6 ft, 2-Pack, 2 Cords, Braided, Fast Charging Cord for Phone, Tablet and Laptop
| Step | Word cut | Characters | Against 75 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Start | — | 120 | 45 over |
| 1 | Charger | 112 | 37 over |
| 2 | 2 | 110 | 35 over |
| 3 | Cords, | 103 | 28 over |
| 4 | Cord | 98 | 23 over |
| 5 | for | 94 | 19 over |
| 6 | Phone, | 87 | 12 over |
| 7 | Tablet | 80 | 5 over |
| 8 | and | 76 | 1 over |
| 9 | Laptop | 69 | Pass, 6 left |
After the cuts: Hearthline USB-C to USB-C Cable, 6 ft, 2-Pack, Braided, Fast Charging. Title length (75-character limit): 69 of 75 characters (6 characters left).
Rule: a product title has at most 75 characters, spaces included, outside the Media category (Amazon rule since ; checked ).
Check yourself
A Home & Kitchen title has exactly 75 characters, spaces included. Does it meet the rule?
- Yes: 75 is allowed.
- No: it must be under 75.
- Only if the brand is not counted.
- Only in the Media category.
Answer and explanations
Answer: A. Yes: 75 is allowed.
- A. Correct. Since Jul 27, 2026 the limit is 75 characters or fewer. L-Guard's listing checker passes 75 and fails 76.
- B. The rule says 75 or fewer, so exactly 75 passes.
- C. The brand counts toward the 75.
- D. It is the other way round: the 75-character limit does not apply to Media.
Your title is 98 characters and you are the brand owner. What may Amazon do?
- Removes the listing until you fix it.
- May replace the title with its own shorter AI title; you get 14 days to review it.
- Nothing: titles written before Jul 27, 2026 are protected.
- Charges a fee for every extra character.
Answer and explanations
Answer: B. May replace the title with its own shorter AI title; you get 14 days to review it.
- A. The rollout announcement says listings remain active, but current help warns that noncompliant titles may be absent from search. Check the current requirements.
- B. Correct. Amazon gradually replaces titles over 75 characters; brand owners have 14 days to review the change in Review Listings Changes.
- C. No. Amazon is replacing existing long titles gradually; our sources name no exception for older titles.
- D. There is no such fee in our sources.
Which title breaks the repeat rule (no word more than twice)?
- Hearthline Bamboo Boards: Board for Bread, Board for Herbs, Board for Fruit
- Hearthline Bamboo Cutting Board Set and Board Oil
- Hearthline Bamboo Cutting Boards for the Kitchen and for the Table
- Hearthline 3 Bamboo Boards, 3 Sizes, 3-Pack
Answer and explanations
Answer: A. Hearthline Bamboo Boards: Board for Bread, Board for Herbs, Board for Fruit
- A. Correct. "Board" appears three times. (The listing checker counts "Boards" as a different word, but three times "Board" is already one too many.)
- B. "Board" appears twice. Twice is allowed.
- C. "for" and "the" are small words that do not count, and no other word repeats. It passes.
- D. Numbers on their own, like 3, do not count as repeated words in L-Guard's listing checker. It passes.
What must go from "Hearthline USB-C Cable 6 ft {2-Pack} Braided - Fast Charging"?
- The hyphen in USB-C
- The curly brackets { and }
- The dash between Braided and Fast
- Nothing; every character is allowed
Answer and explanations
Answer: B. The curly brackets { and }
- A. Hyphens inside words are allowed.
- B. Correct. { and } are on the current banned list (! $ ? _ { } ^ ¬ ¦), read Oct24,2026.
- C. A dash is not on the banned list.
- D. { and } are banned in a title, even inside a brand name.
You must cut 45 characters from a title. What do you keep first?
- Brand, product type, size, material, strongest feature
- Use cases such as "for Gym and Office"
- Everything; Amazon will shorten it anyway
- The first 75 characters, whatever they are
Answer and explanations
Answer: A. Brand, product type, size, material, strongest feature
- A. Correct. That is the L-Guard keep order. Move the features you cut into Item Highlights (up to 125 characters).
- B. Use cases are the first thing to cut: they say who uses it, not what it is.
- C. Then Amazon writes your title, and it may drop the facts your buyers look for.
- D. That is the plain cut. It drops whatever sits after character 75, even key features.
Sources
| Fact | Date | Label | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Title at most 75 characters, spaces included, all categories except Media; brand counts | read Oct 24, 2026 | Amazon rule | Title at most 75 characters, spaces included, all categories except Media; brand counts · Source 1 · sellercentral.amazon.com (opens a real Amazon page); Title at most 75 characters, spaces included, all categories except Media; brand counts · Source 2 · sellercentral.amazon.com (opens a real Amazon page) |
| Titles over 75 replaced gradually by Amazon's AI-recommended title; brand owners have 14 days to review | read Oct 24, 2026 | Amazon rule | Titles over 75 replaced gradually by Amazon's AI-recommended title; brand owners have 14 days to review · Source 1 · sellercentral.amazon.com (opens a real Amazon page); Titles over 75 replaced gradually by Amazon's AI-recommended title; brand owners have 14 days to review · Source 2 · sellercentral.amazon.com (opens a real Amazon page) |
| No review window for sellers without Brand Registry | — | Not confirmed on a public Amazon page yet | — |
| Item Highlights: up to 125 characters, available with a compliant title; introduced in the Jun 10, 2026 announcement. | read Oct 24, 2026 | Amazon rule | Item Highlights: up to 125 characters, available with a compliant title; introduced in the Jun 10, 2026 announcement. · Source 1 · sellercentral.amazon.com (opens a real Amazon page); Item Highlights: up to 125 characters, available with a compliant title; introduced in the Jun 10, 2026 announcement. · Source 2 · sellercentral.amazon.com (opens a real Amazon page) |
| Exact causes of Item Highlights error 100476 and behavior across editor/upload paths are unverified; do not infer a cause from title length alone. | — | Not confirmed on a public Amazon page yet | — |
| Current banned title characters ! $ ? _ { } ^ ¬ ¦, with no brand exception. Words may appear at most twice, excluding prepositions/articles/conjunctions and a brand word used in another context. The change date from the original Jan 21, 2025 brand exception is not stated. | read Oct 24, 2026 | Amazon rule | Current banned title characters ! $ ? _ { } ^ ¬ ¦, with no brand exception. Words may appear at most twice, excluding prepositions/articles/conjunctions and a brand word used in another context. The change date from the original Jan 21, 2025 brand exception is not stated. · Source 1 · sellercentral.amazon.com (opens a real Amazon page); Current banned title characters ! $ ? _ { } ^ ¬ ¦, with no brand exception. Words may appear at most twice, excluding prepositions/articles/conjunctions and a brand word used in another context. The change date from the original Jan 21, 2025 brand exception is not stated. · Source 2 · sellercentral.amazon.com (opens a real Amazon page) |
| Current title requirements prohibit promotional phrases such as Free Shipping and decorative symbols. ALL CAPS and subjective Best Seller wording appear under best-practice guidance; older checker warning labels do not decide current policy. | read Oct 24, 2026 | Amazon rule | Current title requirements prohibit promotional phrases such as Free Shipping and decorative symbols. ALL CAPS and subjective Best Seller wording appear under best-practice guidance; older checker warning labels do not decide current policy. · sellercentral.amazon.com (opens a real Amazon page) |
| An active listing can still be absent from search: current title help says a noncompliant title may be corrected or absent from search. The rollout announcement and search eligibility address different things. | read Oct 24, 2026 | Myth | An active listing can still be absent from search: current title help says a noncompliant title may be corrected or absent from search. The rollout announcement and search eligibility address different things. · sellercentral.amazon.com (opens a real Amazon page) |
| Keep order: brand, product type, size, material, strongest feature | Oct 7, 2026 | L-Guard tip | L-Guard Listing Studio fix text |
| Plain cut at 75 characters (L-Guard's listing checker), not what Amazon does | Oct 22, 2026 | L-Guard check | L-Guard listing checker, Oct 22, 2026 |
| How Amazon counts emoji, accented letters and plurals in titles | — | Not confirmed on a public Amazon page yet | — |
| New seller account paths: Products › Manage products, Supply chain › Manage Amazon inventory, workspaces and the menu (UI as of Oct 2026) | read Oct 24, 2026 | Amazon guidance | New seller account paths: Products › Manage products, Supply chain › Manage Amazon inventory, workspaces and the menu (UI as of Oct 2026) · sellercentral.amazon.com (opens a real Amazon page) |
What changed on this page
- Published